anatomyofbeing anatomyofbeing1

Shinji Moon turns the body into art with her words.

Using the body as the force behind her imagery, Shinji Moon’s latest book of poetry The Anatomy of Being elicits a physical response from her readers. The prose is not only understood; it is felt.

Her words are immaculately chosen, so that simple quotations provoke strong responses:

“I look at you and see all the ways a soul can bruise, and I wish I could sink my hands into your flesh and light lanterns along your spine so you know there’s nothing but light when I see you.”

The words bruise, skin, flesh, and spine hold a weight that carries beyond the page; they probe the reader’s own body.

As is becoming more commonplace, The Anatomy of Being was self-published by the now 19-year-old poet. Moon decided to take success into her own hands. She created and gained significant readership through her tumblr account among social media users.

An editor would likely have eliminated the selection of Moon’s poems that are more youthful, but it is exactly these poems of early love and growing up that resonate with her younger audiences, and have subsequently bolstered her popularity. The role of the editor is a controversial one, particularly in the genre of poetry in which one is supposed to be most free with their words. She represents the modern day poet.

Although emerging in a technological era, she portrays a beauty in human connection known and felt for ages.

“A woman will kiss you and you’ll think her lips are two petals rubbing against your mouth.”

Her poetry is the kind you want to wrap yourself up in on a rainy day. Her voice lulls, it is never spoken with force. There is quietness to her tone that makes you want to curl up and sleep. Her poetry explores the relationship between emotions and their physical response, and reminds readers of a love beyond words,

“I would shred open my flesh so that you could see what I hold inside of me; to show you all the light I swallowed from your love.”

Definitely an author I would recommend, and foresee as a poet who will continue to blossom

 posted on: thenewspaper.ca
